Spiritual Wandering – Part 2 – Learning Discernment

“Our idea of God tells us more about ourselves than about Him.” –THOMAS MERTON

Spiritual Wandering teaches a level discernment that might be surprising:

1. I experienced many different types of spiritual practices to learn from others through direct experience

2. I read everything I could get my hands on and learned just reading about spiritual practices only provides an academic study, spirituality is experiential

3. I had to constantly check my intention – I learned a true spiritual path would help navigate life, but wasn’t there to solve my problems, just not be overwhelmed by them

4. After cycling through practices I loved at first, I became more aware that my attachment to them was a problem, attachment would make me become opinionated and want to convince people what my way was the right way

5. After wandering until I was exhausted, I stopped thinking so much about what I want

6. I started realizing a spiritual path isn’t all about me and what I could “get” from it

7. I started realizing the more I thought I knew, the less I actually knew

8. I started to understand that I was trying to make spirituality fit my beliefs and realizing I was worshipping at the temple of myself

9. I started to wake up to the fact that true spirituality is what you do every minute because I am spirit and so is everyone else

10. I started contemplating Thomas Merton’s brilliant quote and I realized with all my wandering, I know nothing

“Our idea of God tells us more about ourselves than about Him.”

Thomas Merton

Leave a Reply

