World Peace Day

January 1, 2015

Our priest reminded us that God has deposited another 365 days into our account. Interesting perspective and giving that some thought I begin to wonder how I will use these days allotted to me. One step further, I begin wondering how I have spent the other banked days God has given me and whether He actually thinks I have been worthy of the new days before me. Our job is to love others without stopping to inquire whether or not they are worthy.

That is not our business and, in fact, it is nobody’s business. What we are asked to do is to love, and this love it self will render both ourselves and our neighbors worthy. ~ Thomas Merton

Today is World Peace Day, fitting that it should be on the Solemnity of the Blessed Virgin Mary. She  was obviously worthy of being the Mother of God, all I hope, all I ask, is to be worthy of the new 365 days that has been allotted to me. To use these days in service to others and thereby serving God. I think we should love peace, embrace peace and live peace and in order to do so perhaps we have to look inward and adjust our own attitudes toward others.

So instead of loving what you think is peace, love other men and love God above all. And instead of hating the people you think are warmongers, hate the appetites and the disorder in your own soul, which are the causes of war. If you love peace, then hate injustice, hate tyranny, hate greed — but hate these things in yourself, not in another. ~ Thomas Merton

Wishing everyone peace and a year worthy of God.

12-28-14 From Mom's IPhone 322

Leave a Reply

