Agapé Love vs. Conditional Love

Great post for the start of the new year! Thanks William Ockham!

Teilhard de Chardin

agape-640x360
“Whoever is without love does not know God, for God is love.” — 1 John 4:8

The First Reading for today’s Mass is from the First Epistle of St. John and one of the most insightful and beautiful readings in the Bible. It is also very hard for me to live by as I am frequently stuck in a “transactional mentality” of only being nice to those who are nice to me or who can help me. I rarely consider others beyond my small circle but much truly love the stranger or those who do harm to me. 

Today’s reflection from Living Space is a beautiful summary of agapé love and something for me to ponder the remainder of the Christmas Season and into Ordinary Time:

What, then, do we mean by love in our reading today? C S Lewis, the Christian writer, once wrote a book called The Four…

View original post 483 more words

Leave a Reply

