A Time of Great Revealing

So it seems it is very easy right now to blame Islam for what is going on in the world and to take sides as they are in the “my God is better than your God” rhetoric. I too was drawn to exposing the false pretense of Islam so I could feel more justified in my reaction, feel more virtuous as a person and more confident that my choice of Catholicism is indeed the better choice. The title of my post, a time of great revealing, had that thought in mind, that I would blog about the evils of others and justify my choices so I could feel warm and happy. I turned to the Church resources to find ammunition for my post and much to my surprise I found this:

Second Vatican Council, Nostra Aetate 3, October 28, 1965

“The Church has also a high regard for the Muslims. They worship God, who is one, living and subsistent, merciful and almighty, the Creator of heaven and earth (Cf. St. Gregory VII, Letter III, 21 to Anazir [Al-Nasir], King of Mauretania PL, 148.451A.), who has spoken to men. They strive to submit themselves without reserve to the hidden decrees of God, just as Abraham submitted himself to God’s plan, to whose faith Muslims eagerly link their own. Although not acknowledging him as God, they venerate Jesus as a prophet, his Virgin Mother they also honor, and even at times devoutly invoke. Further, they await the day of judgment and the reward of God following the resurrection of the dead. For this reason they highly esteem an upright life and worship God, especially by way of prayer, alms-deeds and fasting.

“Over the centuries many quarrels and dissensions have arisen between Christians and Muslims. The sacred Council now pleads with all to forget the past, and urges that a sincere effort be made to achieve mutual understanding; for the benefit of all men, let them together preserve and promote peace, liberty, social justice and moral values.”

And I realized perhaps there is more going on, that the radical muslims are indeed crying out, but perhaps not in the name of religion, but in the name of fear and lack and overwhelming desire to feel they have a purpose. Granted, they have been hijacked by evil I believe, as their acts have given into a perverse desire for power and nothing more.

I was also deeply disappointed in the Dalai Lama this week, when he said to stop praying for Paris, that we need “action” not prayers. I felt a profound sadness that  he has revealed his true self. If not prayer what? I would ask him. I would think FIRST prayer because that will lead to the correct action.

Times are difficult, but we have a light on our path.

7-23-14sky

 

 

Leave a Reply

